Boston Roller Derby

Roller Derby is something that I have been curious about for a few years now. It started with the punny names, as I do appreciate a good pun. I then met a few women who participated in the sport and was slightly intimidated. Then I watched a few of my friends start skating and I was amazed as I observed them blossom into fierce, strong, confident women (even more so than they were before).

I wanted to try it, but I have never skated before. Well, not since I was like 7, and even then I know I wasn’t an accomplished skater. I had no idea where to start.

I had annoyed my boyfriend long enough for over a year, talking about how I wanted to try it when the next Derby 101 (how to skate) course started. I would look at skates and equipment online, but never did anything about it.

In comes in my friend, Abby, letting me know that the next Derby 101 course was going to start at the end of May. Next thing I know, I’m picking out my Fresh Meat Package online with Thom. Yesterday, was my first class!

IMG_0562

I learned many things- mostly that I have a long way to go. I’m excited to get more confident on wheels, as I’m still really scared of going fast and of falling down.

So I’m going to start blogging my efforts to keep myself accountable. Here goes nothing!

 

Leave a Reply

